Women’s Health: Introduction To Cannabis And Endo

Posted by Simone Fischer at 7:15 AM on August 14, 2015Marijuana Science, Medical Marijuana Policy

 

red-cross-marijuana-leaf

Two years ago, TWB published a story I wrote on strains that have been known to help women manage chronic pain stemming from PMS/PMDD. Now dated, I penned that list before I was officially diagnosed with endometriosis in 2014. After a panicked trip to the emergency room revealed a potentially life-threating ectopic pregnancy; my right ovary had grown to the size of softball to boot. Since 2014, I have been working on my own recovery while translating my pain and experiences into cannabis advocacy that specifically addresses women’s health issues such as: endometriosis, fibromyalgia, menopause and PMDD.

Back when I wrote my original TWB story, I was primarily a flower user who smoked joints on the regular or used bongs when available. Dabs and edibles were too strong and often anxiety inducing for a lightweight like myself. After my emergency surgery, everything changed. I was completely dependent on smokeless forms of cannabis because I could not risk jarring my incisions by coughing after a big hit. At first I was afraid to get “too high”, but after my traumatic experience I needed the strength. I was in a lot of pain and the cannabis worked to manage my post-op, chronic pelvic-pain issues. I choose cannabis over Percocet because it works to dissipate my pain without interfering with my ability to work and complete daily tasks. I am not knocking those who prefer pills because Percocet does help diminish my infinite lower back pain: at the total expense of my sobriety.

http://www.theweedblog.com/womens-health-introduction-to-cannabis-and-endo/

Rispondi

